What I’m learning WILL help me in Life!

I used to always ask myself whether or not the skills I’m learning in school will be of any value to me once I am out in the real world. After reading David Reich’s blog my 2 cents about whether or not knowing social media makes you a better job candidate, I now have better perspective on what to focus on during my remaining time in college.

Now, after settling on after college plans, the daunting task of job searching is glaring me in the face. Reich suggests that knowing social media tools is a plus, but what it really comes down to is your ability to write clearly and concisely. Reich believes this skill is acquired though studying how media stories are written, coupled with good on-the-job training.

Though employers look for writing skill, there is more to the job. Employers look for candidates with good ethics, which may come from working in smaller agencies. Smaller to mid-sized agencies work hard to help their junior employees dive right in to all aspects of the business, creating well rounded PR pros.

More tips:

  • get involved with extra-curricular activities, such as working with college radio, newspaper, or helping with marketing for a student organization.
  • start a blog. Blogging is a good way to refine and improve your writing skills, while also showcasing your thoughts and ideas.
  • dive into all forms of social media. even if you don’t participate on a regular basis, your knowledge of the different forms will help you in the long run.
  • Interact with professionals. PRos (as My PR instructor likes to call them) are a great resource, and they are more than happy to help point you in the right direction. — Using Twitter has been a great way to interact with PRos. When I have questions about social media tools I throw up a question and they help provide resources to answer my questions.

It’s nice to know that the skills I’m learning will the the skills that set me a part from other candidates. Have faith and confidence in your skills as  a writer and an active consumer and participant in social media.

~ by stacianne on February 23, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
