Challenge: How to pitch yourself in 140 characters or less!

As you may know I’m an avid tweeter. As I’ve begun my job hunt I’ve been up to the challenge of pitching myself and my skills via twitter! Now twitter has always been a good brain warm up by answering the questions “what are you doing?” in 140 characters or less– it is a challenge sometimes in how to find the right words.

Now pitching your skills to a potential employer is rather difficult in 140 characters. You have to do your research on what skills they are looking for in a potential employee and relay it to them- short and sweet! I like to compare this to the, now which seems much easier, Elevator pitch- where you have 30 seconds or less on an elevator ride to pitch to your boss your AMAZING ideas! I’d take 30 seconds over 140 characters any day! But for the time being it’s a fun way to get back into the groove of things!

Give it a try! What would you say to pitch yourself and your skills in 140 characters or less?

~ by stacianne on August 19, 2008.

2 Responses to “Challenge: How to pitch yourself in 140 characters or less!”

  1. […] lead with Alison Byrne Fields the SVP/managing director of the Issues & Advocacy Department. I pitched myself to her on twitter, which turned out to be the lead that got my resume in the door at DDB. Although the position I had […]

  2. […] with Alison Byrne Fields the SVP/managing director of the Issues & Advocacy Department at DDB. I pitched myself to her on twitter, which turned out to be the lead that got my resume in the door at DDB. Although the position I had […]

Leave a Reply

 
