Making a differance

Late last night I received an email from a friend asking me to fill out a survey on nonprofit awareness. I’ve always been aware of nonprofits, because since I was young I’ve volunteered and fundraised for the Community Transitional School, which is a school for homeless children in the Portland-Vancouver area.

For most of my life when someone asked me what I wanted to do when I grew up, I would say, “work for a non-profit”. Now, lately with the anxiety of graduating from college, traveling around europe, and finally making my first big move to Seattle, Washington, but unfortunately non-profit work hasn’t been at the top of my list these days.

But when I received this email survey about if I was aware of the organization Loaves & Fishes I became inspired again. So inspired I began leaving comments in the OTHER section about how to increase volunteers and how to reach out to get help from its local communities. I was also so inspired that I donated a weeks worth of food for a senior citizen who is homebound.

Another site I came across a few years ago is the breastcancer site, where by clicking you give a Free Mamogram to someone. Click to Give not only donates free mammograms, but free food to hurricane victims, free healthcare to children, free books to literacy programs for children, protect an endangered habitat, and give free food and care to animals who need rescuing– All of this just by clicking a button! I’ve sat multiple hours just going back and forth on each page clicking. It feels nice, but nothing feels as good as the act of volunteering your own time. By taking the time to see and feel the mission of an organization can be life altering.

Tonight I have been re-inspired to in the time I have before I begin to work, to step out and do some volunteering for an organization. Be it with the Community Transitional School, which is my favorite place to help out at,  or working at the food bank, but getting involved in my community to make our world that much better of a place to live is worth every second of it!

What are you doing to make a difference in your Community?

~ by stacianne on September 13, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
