Tapping all your resources

Just last week I officially accepted a position as an Assistant Account Executive at Doyle Dane & Bernbach (DDB) in the Issues & Advocacy department. I couldn’t be more excited to start!

Finding this position took a lot of hard work. I called on my UO instructor and friend , Kelli Matthews quite a lot in the past month for advice, multiple pep talks, and networking. If it were not for Kelli, I would not have received the opportunity to interview with DDB. Kelli reached out to a colleague of hers who was able to strategically place my resume in the right hands.

This resource helped to notify me of organizations that I may not have found by doing a typical Internet search. She was able to help me land a few interviews, which was great practice and experience. Although, this was not the way I received my position at DDB.

When I first started searching Kelli was nice enough to send out a tweet to see if anyone had any leads on jobs in Seattle.In less than ten minutes Kelli had a response from Nedra Weinreich who gave me my first lead with Alison Byrne Fields the SVP/managing director of the Issues & Advocacy Department at DDB. I pitched myself to her on twitter, which turned out to be the lead that got my resume in the door at DDB. Although the position I had originally interviewed for didn’t work out, my resume was still on the table.

About a month later I was contacted again by DDB for the position I accepted just last week. From the beginning I was told to be patient, that the job will come in time-and it did. It was all about reaching out to all of the resources I had at my fingertips and stepping outside of my comfort zone to make a relationship that lead to a job.

When job hunting, make sure you tap into all the resources you have at your finger tips- instructors, facebook, twitter, linkedin, indeed, family friends and relatives. But, also remember to thank them in the end. They are sticking their neck out for you, and deserve to be thanked for taking the time and effort to help you off into the working world.

So may I also take this time to sincerely thank Kelli Matthews for all the help and support in my job search, (especially for the tweet). And also to Nedra Weinreich for connecting me with Alison!

I cannot wait to see what this position has in store for me as I start in a new city as a fresh PR PRO!

~ by stacianne on October 6, 2008.

6 Responses to “Tapping all your resources”

  1. I am so proud of you! Thanks for the thanks, but this was all you, honey. You’re smart, creative and you get it. I really couldn’t be happier for you. It sounds like a terrific position with lots of growth for you personally and professionally. You’ll be challenged and inspired and if I know you, that’s perfect for you.

    I can’t wait to hear about all your adventures! And I’m totally coming to Seattle and you and Jessica can buy me dinner. 😉

  2. After hearing your story in person, I keep thinking about the infinite possibilities that twitter holds! Keep up the great work and congrats again!

  3. Glad that it worked out — for all of us.

    I definitely think it makes sense to count on the relationships you develop via Twitter for new jobs, feedback and resources. I think it’s the most “social” of the social media with which I engage.

    And, as a communications professional just starting your career, I assure you that the fact that you are on Twitter — and reached out to me on Twitter — brought you to the top of the pile of resumes.

    I run the Issues & Advocacy group, but I also run the Social Media group and I want more people in the agency who are engaged in social media.

  4. Congrats.

    You obviously could do it!

    Good luck with everything. I’m sure you’ll be busy.

  5. Hey Staci. Just found your blog. Adding it to my blogroll. Great stuff. I was wondering how you incorporated a Tweet from Kelli’s feed into the body of your post. Photoshop? Good luck in Seattle.

  6. Oh, and props to the Mraz reference in your tagline.

Leave a Reply

 
